School Board

Lynne Craigie

Chair                                                                                                                                                           Community Representative


I am a long term Pilbara resident, coming here in 1966 to work as a Psychologist.  Since this time I have owned and worked in several small business’.  I am the current President of the East Pilbara Shire, Chairperson of the Pilbara Regional Council, State President of the WA Local Government Association, Member of the Pilbara Development Commission, Regional Development Australia and Horizon Power.  Locally, I also Chair the Newman Visitor Centre, the Newman Women’s Shelter and EPIS.  My goal is to ensure the progress of liveable and vibrant communities that are sustainable within Newman and the East Pilbara.


Maree Arnason - Director, BA, GAICD

 Board Member                                                                                                                                            Community Representative

MAREE ARNASON, Board member

Maree grew up in the Pilbara and is a former Student Councillor, Head Girl and Citizen of the Year at Newman SHS.

An experienced director and senior executive, Maree’s career has spanned 30 years in the resources, energy and manufacturing sectors. Maree is a Non- Executive Director of ASX-listed Sandfire Resources and MZI Resources and a Co-Founder/Director of Energy Access Services, who operate an independent and automated WA-focused wholesale gas trading platform. An active contributor to the not-for-profit sector for 25 years, Maree is a member of ASIC’s Director Advisory Panel, CEDA’s (Committee for the Economic Development of Australia) WA State Advisory Council and a NED of Juniper, one of WA’s largest aged care community benefit organisations.


Peter Browne

 Board Member                                                                                                                                            Community Representative

Peter Browne, Board MemberAfter Peter Browne retired as Director General of Education he was appointed Adjunct Professor at Curtin University with responsibility for establishing and enhancing campuses in rural Western Australia. He subsequently spent ten years as Education Consultant to BHP Billiton focussing on education in the Pilbara.

 Peter was educated in the Goldfields of WA, Scotch College, Grayland's Teachers' College where he was Guild President and Curtin University. He spent many years as a teacher and administrator in rural Western Australia, was the inaugural Principal of Cunderdin Agricultural College before being appointed Superintendent, Executive Director, CEO of the Department of Education Services and subsequently Director General of Education.

Peter chaired the Country High School Hostels Authority, the Education Endowment Trust, was on the Board of St Mary's Girls School, Deputy Chair of John Walliston College, a member of the Senate of UWA and the Governing Council of Curtin University. He chaired the establishment of the Margaret River Centre of Wine Excellence and the establishment of WACOT.  He is currently Deputy Chair of the Central Institute of TAFE and Deputy Chair Of Morawa Agricultural College IPS Board.

Recently Peter has conducted numerous reviews for the State Government including Scitech,  PCYC Governance and Road Safety in WA. He is a serving JP, a member of the Claremont Town Council, Claremont Tennis Club and Claremont Yacht Club. Peter has devoted most of his life to the advancement of rural education. 

Tania Tucker

        Board Member                                                                                                                                                     Community Member



Carolyn Cook

Board Member                                                                                                                                             School Principal

A career in education offers a great opportunity to learn and develop others. Carolyn has had a range of roles in her career:  as an English teacher; delivering literacy professional learning to teachers in primary and secondary school; as program coordinator and head of learning area, and deputy principal. Carolyn has experience working in country and large metropolitan high schools. This includes the Pilbara towns of Port Hedland, Karratha and Tom Price.

Carolyn is a graduate of the University of Western Australia and a Fellow of LeadershipWA.

chris hickman

Board Member                                                                                                                                          School Representative

DAVE NEWMAN, Board member







rita bourgy

Board Member                                                                                                                                             School Representative

DAMON JEFFERY, Board member

Rita Bourgy has been in Newman since 1991. She graduated from the Lebanese University with a Bachelor of Education in Mathematics prior to living in Australia and has a Certificate of Education in Mathematics from Edith Cowan University.

She started her teaching career in Lebanon where she taught in private and public sectors for six years.

In 1998, she started with the South Newman and Newman Primary schools doing relief and part time teaching. She joined Newman Senior High school in 2010 and currently is the Head of the Quantitative Sciences.


 Board Member                                                                                                                                            Parent Representative


Katie Wallace has lived in Newman for over 16 years and has had 2 children complete their schooling at Newman Senior High School. As a parent, Katie has been involved with Newman Senior High School since 2005 and is an active member of the school community.

Katie works in Education, as the Deputy Principal at South Newman Primary School since 2009 and has two primary age children currently attending the school. Katie worked at Newman Primary from 2000-2004 and at Newman Senior High School from 2005- 2008

Katie brings a strong parental perspective to the Board, and has been involved in a number of committees in both a personal and professional capacity.



Board Member                                                                                                                                             Parent Representative

NICOLA LAKE, Board memberOriginally from the UK, Nicola has resided in Newman since 2006.   Nicola is currently employed by Mission Australia and is an extremely active volunteer within the community.  Nicola is involved with a number of the local junior sporting groups and is also a parent representative on the South Newman Primary School Board.

As well as volunteering her time within the community, Nicola also has a child currently attending Newman Senior High School.




Co-opted Board Member

JO MCGOWAN, Board Member

Jo McGowan is currently the Manager – Corporate Services at Newman Senior High School. Jo’s role oversees the Finance and Human Resource functions at the School.  Moving from Perth to Newman almost 4 years ago Jo has worked in Education since arriving in Newman.

Jo is a dedicated member of the Newman community, and currently serves on a number of committees for Volunteer organisations. These include Secretary of the NSHS Parents & Citizens Committee, Treasurer of the Lions Club, Secretary of the Newman Mainstreet committee and a SAFE committee member.

As well as working at the school and serving the community in a number of different capacities, Jo also has a child currently attending Newman Senior High School and is a Foster carer for children in need.